Herb Pomeroy and Donna Byrne: Walking on Air

Herb Pomeroy and Donna Byrne: Walking on Air

Arbors Records

ARCD: 19176

Regular price $10.00 Sale

Musicians: Herb Pomeroy: Trumpet and Flugelhorn

Donna Byrne: Vocals
Dave McKenna: Piano
Gray Sargent: Guitar
Marshall Wood: Bass
Jim Gwin: Drums

"Donna and Herb have drawn on the legacy of their enshrined forebears« musicality and togetherness. They have absorbed the social and musical changes since those days. And they Ò and their four long-time colleagues on this disc Ò have found a new and refreshed but still classic and still wonderfully listenable jazz . . . There«s a oneness as well as twoness in marriages and in music, when a voice and a horn are always there for each other, in today«s clich, and also give each other space. Think of Lee Wiley and Bobby Hackett. Think of Billie Holiday and Lester Young. Then think again. It«s half a century later. When Billie sings No More she«s a woman turning from a no-good man with aching resignation. In Donna«s No More you know this woman is going to slam the door and have a life.? Ò Roderick Nordell
Here is what the critics have to say:
Herb Pomeroy and Donna Byrne: Walking on Air:

Awarded five stars by Tex Wyndham in The American Rag

Doxy/ It«s a Wonderful World

Lullaby in Rhythm
Ill Wind
Taps Miller
Take the "A-Train
Just One of Those Things
No More
Do Nothin« Till You Hear From Me
Your Red Wagon
I Have Dreamed
The Intimacy of the Blues