The Music of Bob Haggart Featuring His Porgy and Bess Arrangements

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Randy Sandke - leader and trumpetJon-Erik Kellso - PujeByron Stripling - trumpetJohn Allred - tromboneGeorge Masso - ...



Randy Sandke - leader and trumpet
Jon-Erik Kellso - Puje
Byron Stripling - trumpet
John Allred - trombone
George Masso - trombone
Wycliffe Gordon - trombone
Scott Robinson - tenor and baritone saxophone
Jack Stuckey - baritone saxophone
Ken Peplowski - clarinet
Howard Alden - guitar
Derek Smith - piano
Ed Metz Sr. - piano
Greg Cohen - bass
Joe Ascione - drums
Bob Haggart - bass (17 only)
Tony DeNicola - drums (17 only)

"To Bob Haggart, that most modest of greatly gifted men, arranging (or rather, recasting) some of George Gershwin's greatest themes from Porgy and Bess in 1958 was "by far the best writing I ever did." When you hear this wonderful score, brought back to life here by an equally stellar cast, you will agree that Bob Haggart more than earned his bragging rights."

—Dan Morgenstern, the Executive Director of the Institute of Jazz Studies at Rutgers University and one-time editor of both Metronome and Down Beat.

It Ain't Necessarily So, It Takes A Long Pull to Get There, I Got Plenty O' Nuttin', Summertime, Bess, You Is My Woman Now, Oh, I Can't Sit Down, I Loves You, Porgy, My Man's Gone Now, Bess, Oh Where's My Bess?, There's A Boat Dat's Leavin' Soon for New York, Mardi Gras Parade, What's New?, Dogtown Blues, My Inspiration, South Rampart Street Parade, At the Jazz Band Ball, Big Noise from Winnetka

You may also like...